Some people think that children nowadays have too much freedom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Issue concerning children’s span of freedom has been heatedly discussed, from which opinions stated that children are gradually possess with too much freedom aroused. However, under such an extremely competitive world with both pressures came from social and family, it’s not easy for children to truly enjoy the freedom.

Speaking of the external environment, social competition aggravated year by year. Economically, the number of talents and skilled experts in all industries has rapidly increased to a new level. Children have to face much more peer pressure than their predecessors in the future, which means they have to foster themselves to become a more competitive person in order to accommodate the future needs of recruitment. Under such circumstances, to stand out of this fierce competition, children are prone to learn what peers are learning now so as to transcend their peers, and continue to juggle for the winner. This kind of behavior damaged the freedom that children could have the rights to do what they are purely interested in like play interesting games or go travelling, but not for self-interest or competitiveness.

Considered the internal environment, family is another predominant factor that limit children’s freedom. Some families are faced with a serious generation gap between parents and their children, which leads to a deep misunderstanding that discourages children from owning their freedom. For instance, parents are sometimes stubborn at children’s career goals and future plans. To make their career path seemingly ideal and optimal, parents forbid their children to develop their hobbies which are not related to their aims even though children have talents and passion for them. While parents think their hobbies are trivial and useless, children regard them as a wonderful way to reduce their stress and find the true fulfillment and happiness. However, these coercive discouragements from parents largely deprive children’s freedom of choosing what they sincerely want.

In conclusion, it’s an arduous process for children faced with external and internal pressure and prevention to acquire their freedom.