Deciding the appropriate age at which children can start their education officially has long concerned many parents. However, I think that we should not categorize the forms of education as formal or informal, and I will explain why.

It is true that in many countries, children start their formal education – in other words, go to elementary schools at seven. People believe that until this stage, the mental and physical development of children have advanced enough to integrate themselves into new environments, and they are able to consciously interact with peers as well as effectively acquire basic knowledge. In the earlier stages, namely sensorimotor stage from birth to two years and preoperational stage from two to seven years, children have not fully grasped the concept of formal knowledge; therefore, the more suitable way for them to learn and develop their skills might be through games, songs and outdoor activities.

Conversely, many parents send their children to educational institutions very early, hopefully the kids will excel in their studies and social skills as soon as possible. In Vietnam, many children are able to read, write and do math before they are able to express their thoughts clearly or practice personal hygiene properly. Ironically, it is not only for the sake of their children, but also for the face of the adults. The fact is that many parents measure their superiority over others through the educational success of their children; hence, kids are sent to schools, sometimes against their will, at a very early age.

Overall, my perspective is that it is unnecessary, indeed imprecise, to categorize pre-school education as less formal or official than elementary education and above. In terms of personal development, each stage is critical in different way, so we can teach young children as soon as we want, but it must be with suitable methods.