Some people think that children under 18 years old must receive full-time education. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

In today’s society, it is believed by many individuals that students before their age of majority should be given full-time teaching. Although there may be some reasons why people advocate this notion, I am of the opinion that schools shouldn’t apply this way of education to pupils.

There is no denying that full-time education has some beneficial impacts on students. First and foremost, schools can help children to spend more time studying. In fact, there are several means of entertainment nowadays which may act as a distraction to youngsters. As a result, they have an inclination to waste their time by using their mobile phones or computers all day. Another advantage worth mentioning is that full-time teaching refrain students from taking part in social vices. Pupils are too young to be aware of some would-be problems in the community. By this way, they don’t have time for bad habits from the outside because of teachers’ supervision.

However, there is a plethora of detrimental repercussions of this teaching method. To begin with, there may be a lack of soft skills in children who have to spend all day studying at school. Since they do not have enough time to take part in social activities, they do not have any opportunities to gain their experiences in life, which makes their life after graduation may become harsher. Not only that, a hectic schedule in school could lead to depression and stress in students. By this way of education, children may be overwhelmed due to an enormous amount of knowledge and the shortage of leisure time, which could drain all of their enthusiasm and motivation for study.

In conclusion, although full-time education has some advantages in teenagers’ lives, I strongly believe that a balance of study-life time could go a long way.