Some people think that schools should reward only students with the best academic results, while others believe it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, a school of thought holds that solely schoolers who excel in their studying can receive rewards, while others claim that it is more essential for schools to give awards to individuals who make progress. Both viewpoints are reasonable, but I lean towards the latter idea.

On the one hand, there are a number of rationales for advocating rewarding for the elite students only. First and foremost, attaining high scores requires sustainable attempts during the whole study process, so these pupils are more deserving of the praise and prizes compared to those with fewer achievements. There is no denying that privileges motivate them to be more diligent, which can maintain a sense of competitiveness in the school. For instance, the top student needs to make an effort to hold the first place, while the lower ones must strive to rank up.

On the other hand, I reckon that not only outstanding students but also those who aspire to better performance should be given rewards. This would instill a sense of achievement into these pupils, which incentivize them to keep endeavoring to get higher scores. For example, according to a survey conducted by The University of Mumbai, 89% of non-achievers become interested in their studies because of the faith shown by their teachers and school. Hence proved that giving academic prizes when individuals make strides in studying is the optimal way to inspire and motivate them to study harder.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the benefits of also handing out awards for those who show signs of improvement would outweigh rewarding only elite students.