It is universally acknowledged that in order to reduce the incidence of crime, people who commit offences should be kept in prison for a long time. However, I hold a firm conviction that even giving longer terms in jails is an effective measure, there are several steps to tackle with the rampant of the crime rate.

On the one hand, there are a couple of reasons why I believe the governments should pass new legislation to keep offenders in jails for a long time. One of the significant reasons is that the authorities can impose strict laws like expanding time in prisons, therefore, citizens may avoid to commit a crime. Indeed, when someone decides to break laws, they may about consequences, so this law may deter them from doing illegal actions. Another reason is that to uphold an order society, convicts should be kept in prisons for a long time. If the authorities do not keep offenders in jails for a long time to train them to know about moral obligations, the persistent offender rate may increase rapidly. As a result, the number of innocent victims will climb because the rules and regulations in these countries cannot safeguard their security.

On the other hand, for a variety of reasons, I believe that some other measures can be applied to reality so as to deal with the soaring criminal rate. First of all, educating about laws, illegal activities and consequences should be high on the government’ agenda. Instead of spending expenditure on building more prisons to keep convicts, the governments may allocate more money to teach their residents, especially students, how to become law-abiding citizens. Therefore, the local people can gain up-scale awareness about their rights and duties, in the long term, the rate of juvenile delinquency will drop. Secondly, the government can improve the living standard of their residents to deter them from breaking laws. According to some research, hunger and poverty are the culprits of the rampant crime rate, hence, if the authorities accommodate more welfare for their citizens, they can face with these problems.

In conclusion, I believe that in order to safeguard social stability, the governments should not only keep prisoners for longer terms in jails but also enhance their locals’ awareness about laws as well as improve the standard of living.