Some people think that detailed descriptions of crime scenes in newspapers and on TV can have a bad influence on the public, so this kind of information should be restricted in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that the public can be negatively affected by detrimental information from detailed descriptions of crime scenes in printed newspapers and on television; therefore, this should be limited in the media. I completely agree with this notion since it gives rise to criminal acts, people’s anxiety and against the morality of propaganda in transmitting information

The first reason for my view that crimes should not be reported cursory is because it encourages viewers to violate the laws. Young people or even children nowadays use the internet as their main method of collecting information. Everyday in social media, more and more articles relating to killings, robberies or kidnaping appear, which will raise curiosity and impulse them to act the same.

Another justification for why I oppose the detailed presentation of crimes via the mass media is that members of the public’s anxiety can be triggered. Detailed descriptions of crime scenes may lead to excessive panic and anxiety for people especially those with weak mentality. They may become anti-society, unwilling to connect with others. They are always fear of being the victim of a potential crime.As a result, it could lead to not only a loose-knit community where people are not willing to support those in need but also a burden for the government.

Last but not least, detailed descriptions of crime scenes in newspapers and on TV against the morality of propaganda in transmitting information. In the morality of propaganda, journalists or television directors must avoid as much as they can about the contents which included violence actions, especially about the process that crimes occurred. But nowadays, it appears more and more to attract the attention of people. Last but not least, detailed descriptions of crime scenes may not be highly appreciated by other people or foreign media outlets. A newspaper that has a strong connection with cases like killings, robberies or kidnappings will be the cause of adverse effects on both tourism and the economy. Tourists feel fear of visiting this country for fear of being victimized in these crimes and many foreign companies will hesitate in investing into the country with such a chaotic society.

In conclusion, I strongly oppose the idea of presenting detailed crime reports on newspapers and television due to its negative impact on the public. It is advisable that the details of the crimes should be completely banned and Journalists or television directors should make a wise choice when publishing the news in order to create a better society, repel crimes and unite people.