Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies.

Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the thriving of modern society, today, citizens are able to get access to a wide range of healthcare services in order to take care of themselves holistically. In fact, more and more private medical services have been established to meet the requirements. Yet, there are some people who claim that well-being is a basic amenity for humans and should not be expanded for business purposes. From my standpoint, I contend that the benefits of medical services outweigh the drawbacks.

One major ground behind the reason why several people oppose private healthcare services doing more harm than good for residents is the primary purpose of these services lying to generate profits. Indeed, most businesses operate with the aim of optimizing profits and might ignore their responsibilities to the whole community, particularly in the healthcare area. Consequently, this may lead to misunderstanding about the role as well as benefits that these services provide for people. In addition, running a private business requires abundant expenditure both fixed and variable costs that it has to cover entire expenses by itself without being sponsored by the government. Therefore, it has to increase healthcare prices to ensure enough budget to operate, indirectly creating financial obstacles for low-income families to get an approach. The United States, for instance, has the most exorbitant private healthcare system in the world, being a barrier for many families to leverage services.

Nevertheless, I firmly believe that the advantages of private healthcare are more pronounced. The first advantage is that private healthcare systems play a significant role in alleviating the workload of public hospitals, particularly in the peak demand. Today, almost all private hospitals are equipped with cutting-edge portable devices meeting the high standards like public hospitals, thereby ensuring the quality for patients as well as sharing the burden for the authority. For example, thanks to private healthcare centers, numerous patients who contracted COVID-19 were treated thoroughly until entirely recovered despite the peak of the Covid-19 pandemic. Furthermore, the harsh competition among private healthcare providers might play a key role in enhancing the quality of public healthcare.

In conclusion, although private healthcare might have its downsides, notably high costs, I still believe that its merits, including reducing pressure on state-owned healthcare institutions and driving improvements in their services, carry more weight in the overall assessment of its impact.