Some people think that good health is essential to every person, so medical services should not be run by profit= making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the advantages ?

Nowadays, some feel that healthiness and well-being is particularly vital to all people. Therefore, healthcare services should not be run by privately-owned firms, whose primary objective is making profit. While I do agree with this statement, I also believe that private healthcare services provide many advantages that outweigh disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are some drawbacks of private medicine. One drawback is that private medical services is quite costly, causing inaccessibility to the poor. If medical care is all run by profit=making organizations, many people suffering from chronic illnesses such as cancer or asthma may die without receiving medical treatment. Furthermore, there are some immoral private hospitals driven by incentives to gain money rather than saving people’s life. For example, unskilled doctors and careless nurses may put patient’s health in danger.

On the other hand, running profit-making medical services could bring several benefits. Firstly, private hospitals have shorter waiting lists for operations and appointments than state ones. As a result, patients can benefit from faster treatment and consultation with nearly no waiting time. Secondly, private clinics may share the responsibilities with state=owned healthcare institutions in taking care of the public’s health. This results in solving the issue of inadequate medical facilities and infrastructures in public-sector hospitals.

In conclusion, despite of some disadvantages, I argue that profit-making institutions play an integral role in providing better healthcare for all people.