Many people are busy with work and do not have enough time to spend with family and friends. Why does this happen? What are the effects of this on family life and society as a whole?

Nowadays, in a fiercely competitive world, people tend to work harder and have longer working hours, resulting in less time spent for their family and friends. There are a number of reasons behind this tendency and I would argue that it has deleterious consequences of family and social life.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why people spend more time in their workplace. Firstly, in the globalised world, most of the companies have to face with keen international competitions, which require hard-working and diligent employees in order to earn profit and achieve sustainable developments. The more business sectors become intensely competitive, the more work volume is required, resulting in people need to work extra hours to accomplish their tasks. Secondly, as daily expenses of a family have been rising day-by-day, working harder can allow people to meet their basic needs. This could help people to buy a comfortable house or go on luxury holidays due to a greater amount of money from working overtime.

On the other hand, this phenomenon of longer working hours could bring about several negative impacts on both family and society. From family prospective, many parents abandon their children because of hectic working. This may lead to some youngsters feel the lack of parental care, and they might be more vulnerable to psychological and social risks. Children can easily get addicted to video games or become highly susceptible to inappropriate content on the Internet. Some even are involved in violence and drug use, which are harmful to their development later in life. In terms of society, many people spending too much time on working would have serious impacts on community health. Owing to busy corporate life, people have little time for engaging outdoor activities or take regular exercise, giving rise to a sedentary lifestyle that is highly detrimental to their physical health.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for spending excessive time in workplaces and it has negative influences on both family life and society.