A variety of different arguments have been put forward about the issue of whether cultural and artistic value are rewarding to be invested from state supply. While some assume it is unnecessary spending, others believe that both citizens and nation’s culture would benefit if the government were to provide financial support for these respects. I will outline the arguments for and against both views, then state my own opinion in this essay.

On the one hand, many people oppose investing in cultural activities because they realize the gravity of other problems need to be taken action. First of all, the deterioration of transport system in many cites is one of the main causes lead to traffic accidents or even casualties. Using money for constructing new roads and overpasses in lieu of cultural activities, would bring immediate effects and save thousands of lives. In addition, global climate change and related environmental issues are requiring urgent attention, namely pollution and natural resource depletion. National leaders, hence, should join hand with scientists by allocation financial resources to finding preventive measures of environmental problems. For example, the development of renewable energy and environmentally friendly sources of energy. By aforementioned ideas, culture and art are not two imperative factors that should be given top priority.

Advocates of art and culture, on the other hand, they not only play an essential role in people’s lives but also country’s image. Cultural events such as Tet holiday or Christmas and so on have yet been a characteristic identity of a nation which reflect the traditional lifestyle of human beings and the value they convey to human life. Moreover, these occasions are the opportunities for family members gather together, which helps to strengthen the sense of family and community, further enriches people’s lives. Preserving cultural diversity, especially cultural heritage recognized by UNESCO in such a globalised world where so much culture is being lost and abandoned, is of importance. Keeping traditional cultural values is also keeping the roots of mankind which underpin for the development of society. When the reputation of a nation is heightened to international friends by its diversity of unique culture, it would become an ideal destination for both domestic and foreign tourist which help to foster the economy especially the tertiary sector.

In conclusion, t believe that cultural activities are of great significance and require attention and financial support from groverments. However, transport infrastructure and environmental issues also need to be upgraded