It is true that some people argue for the larger amount of governmental funding allocated to freeways than several public means of transportation such as buses. From my personal perspective, I am strongly opposed to this view because the system of public transports have increasingly been in need of improvements for various reasons presented below.

On the one hand, explanations why some people hold such a belief for expending more public funding to freeways are varied. To start with, one of the most noteworthy features is the precaution of commuters with their safety on roads. In fact, a quantity of free roads have been incurring the remarkable degradation in their quality of construction because of a huge number of heavy means of transport travelling on a daily basis such as trucks. Moreover, the increasing number of private vehicles has rendered roads more and more crowded, which could result in accidents due to the lack of free space. Another worth-mentioning feature is the controversial issue about traffic jams. To be more specific, because of the huge number of vehicles travelling on roads, commuters have to confront congestion without any feasible effort to mitigate, especially in rush hours when roads are virtually totally occupied by means of transport.

On the other hand, in the process of improving the quality of free roads, I strongly believe that governments should expend a larger quantity of funding on the upgradation of public transport systems. Firstly, such a reasonable policy could pave the way for an innovative and healthy trend of people. To specify, once the quality of public transports were significantly improved, a proliferating number of commuters would turn to employing these means of transportation instead of their private vehicles, which could remarkably contribute to building environmentally sustainable society by reducing the amount of carbon footprint released on a regular basis. Secondly, actions in allocating more public funds to public transports also benefit the development of a part of society. A lot of those who are not financially secure enough to own a car or a motorbike could reap tremendous benefits from the high quality public with highly affordable prices coupled with adequate services.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that more appropriate quantities of public funds should be invested to the enhancement of freeways, I hold a strong belief that the system of public transports really needs a bigger amount of money to be improved.