Some people think that the government should increase tax on petrol in order to reduce traffic and pollution. What are the advantages or disadvantages of such a solution?

In recent years, the increased taxation on vehicle fuel has been gaining a great deal of attention throughout the world as an approach to resolve the burning issue of pollution as well as congestion at roads. Most importantly, the issue has been a bone of contention among the critics either it really helps to sort out the bottlenecks as well as to answer the environmental crisis. While some experts believe that it is really beneficial to resolve the ongoing climate issues as well as the traffic conditions, however, I would contend that this approach is not that much realistic and there are far more ways to redress the balance.

To begin with, it is said that once the taxation is raised, it will directly impact on our habit to use fuel. Therefore, people will start spending wisely on fuel and thus the load on petrol or gasoline will be more meticulous. This in turn, will reduce the burden on environment as the unnecessary vehicle movement will be declined. Moreover, the awareness of the mass people will be raised and they will start using the public transport or communal car-pooling to commute. Additionally, they will develop the habit of walking for short distance travel. Hence, the pressure on fuel will be rational and the people will be more reasonable to the mother nature. In the developed countries, for example, in Canada, the public transport system is sometimes subsidized by the government in addition to higher taxation on vehicle purchase as well as fuel. This is ultimately helping them to address the congestion as well as the pollution more practically.

Conversely, the impact on the raising the fuel price will make the mass people a hard-hit as the fare will go up in majority of the unregulated countries. Hence, the taxation will make the general commuter to suffer a lot as they will ultimately pay from their own pocket to avail transport. Furthermore, even if the usage of personal transport is compromised somewhat in response to heavy duty, the number of available public transport is limited and the increased demand will not be well-handled by the existing number of public vehicle. Most importantly, reducing the usage cannot be the solution to the congestion and pollution in a high-moving world of economy. There are far more approaches to resolve it by introducing fuel efficient cars as well as working on infrastructures of the conurbations pertaining to decentralization.

All things considered, the issue we are talking about cannot be resolved by simply imposing high taxes, rather it will create additional problems. I personally believe world leaders should focus on some other more realistic approaches to troubleshoot it.