Some people think that the government should pay one of the parents of very young children to stay at home to look after their children.

What do you think would be the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Spending time with family is quite essential for all the parents as it helps to maintain strong relationships among the members of the family. Some people are of the opinion that the government should pay one of the parents of the newborn. So that they can take care of them sitting back at home. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this policy.

To begin with, there are several advantages for both parents and children with this method. Firstly, children and the parent get a chance to spend ample time together understanding likes and dislikes. This help in building affections and love between them. Consequently, the family runs smoothly without any tensions and misunderstandings. Secondly, as the government is paying and it is no more a financial burden on the family to some extent as the complete response is not on the other parent. For example, one of my friends, Rahul used to work overtime as his wife left her job to look after their newborn baby. So, he was not able to spend enough time with family leading to disturbances among them. It is especially beneficial to this kind of families. As this has many advantages authorities should pay money to one of the parents of very young children.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks as well. As the government is paying money, it is a burden to pay for all the million families especially in countries where young children are more in number. So, to generate revenue, the government will leverage high taxes on consumer goods which directly affects the common man. For instance, in developing countries like India, which is already in huge debts and implementing this will create more load on the government.

In conclusion, there are many advantages and disadvantages to the government paying one of the parents of very young children. It improves relationships among family members and reduces the financial burden on the other parent. So, it is beneficial to pay the money ensuring that it should not be a burden on the government.