some people think that the government is wasting money on art and that money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this ?

Art is the symbol of notion for a nation, where its images of contemporary society is represented. It is utmost important to the particular society having long historical background and victory especially for the future offspring. Some society and their belief, identity and beliefs are represented through arts- in this sense art is crucial for them to explore. Other sector, however, if other sector such as academic sector should not be ignore. To me, if I had to choose between investing the budget either in art or other sector, I would definitely go for win-win situation for both. Thus, I partially agree to the statement given by the author in question.

No one could ignore the role of arts in exploration of certain culture, beliefs, society and nation as a whole. It's because art is the medium, which carry the message from ancient time to the new generation. Historical background of particular society with the images printed on stone or the audio recording or may be picture drawing on the wall helped us to trace and made conclusion about how our ancestor used to survive at that time. For instance, Gautam Buddha- the light of Asia- was born in a royal family and then he gives up all the luxurious life to be a monk was identified through the art, text printed on stone of that era.

Then, what about the other sector? After all-knowing these thing, of course anyone would be willing to invest in the art sector but back in their mind they are actually conscious about consequence of complete ignorance of other sector such as academic sectors: Education, science and other sector. They are the backbone of the nation and assisting to keep progressing even in the art sector as well. To illustrate this, take an example of archaeological survey of ancient art, there will be the instant need of an archaeologist, chemist, physicist and even the radiologists from academic sector to know about the age and more information by carbon dating of that art. Thus, they are inseparable.

Thus, to sum up, Government should invest in proportionate rate in each sector according the need of particular sector and capacity of the nation. Both art and other sector are equally important for exploration, economic achievement and prosperity of nation.