Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere To what extent do you agree with this view

The expenditure on artists and art creations these days are often the subject of many public debates and controversies. Some people believe that instead of wasting money on arts, the government should be accountable for allocating its fund to the other sectors in societies.

Personally, I don’t agree this idea due to the art benefits bringing to our society.

One the one hand, the art plays an important role in the development of the country, acquiring a huge reputation among people. One of the primary causes is that arts arouse our national interest and it seems to be of a paramount of importance which leads to enriching our culture as well as fostering and developing creativity. Moreover, many students nowadays are overwhelmed by the heavy workload on subjects at school and other extracurricular activities, arts give them an opportunity to blow off some steam and recharge their batteries after a long period time at school. Therefore, the state should take responsibility for preserving and developing arts by opening more and more art galleries, organizing exhibitions and cultural programs. It is essential for the government to provide financial support for organizations to preserve and develop arts.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks if the national state ignores spending the amount of money on other sectors like education, economy especially healthcare. Large sections of communities especially the underprivileged are deprived of basis health facilities such as vaccines and preventive health checkups, leading to increasing a great number of people getting ill. Moreover, if the government had diverted some of funds invested on arts to other sectors like education, it would have had a strong younger generation due to the fact that students could be learned in the best schooling environments with modern technologies as well as the most valuable lessons from professional teachers.

In the conclusion, the government should be accountable for distributing its funds to all sectors including arts because each sector has its own contribution towards the development of the country.