Buildings are the face of a city as well as a culture. Some people have a opine that governments should take initiative to keep the old traditional appearance of a building, while it is renovating. I too completely agree with this opinion as it saves a culture.

To begin with, the buildings which built one or two centuries before, obviously need renovations in order to keep them intact. However, changing its identity to something else is not acceptable. First of all, if the government want to modernise the city, they can construct new buildings instead of changing the old one to new look. Old buildings are not only considered as buildings but it is a prof of our old talented engineers and other workers. For example, Taj mahal built by Shajahan, a mugal emperor still a mystery to the modern engineers. They tried hard to understand the secrets behind its construction , however, they finally understood that it is beyond their knowledge. Secondly , the old buildings are the only remaining of the old tradition . For instance, Taj Mahal is a vital example of the mugal culture.

Moreover,these monuments are a treasure of knowledge. New generation of engineers can learn many important aspects of architecture from this buildings. They should discover how our ancestors build these giant buildings without crane and other modern technology. They did not know how the pyramids in Egypt were built. With the technology available in the past, it was almost unimaginable to think of such big pyramids. In addition to that, these monuments are a great tool of study for our children as well as the research groups all over the world. Children can learn many things by directly seeing it in front of them. If this buildings are not there ,they can only learn from pictures and videos, which will not inspire them.

To conclude, old buildings are vital to current world in many ways. Thus, governments should make sure that identity of the building not affected during it is renovation.