Some people think that governments must insist on preserving traditional appearance of old buildings undergoing renovation or redevelopment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Preserving historic building is vital to understanding our nation's heritage. In the process of restoring them, some people believe that the authorities should not compensate for any changes done in their original appearance, and that the buildings should be restored as they were. This essay shall advocate a practical approach to this scenario.

Restoration is said as the process of accurately depicting the form, features and character of a property as it appeared at a particular period of time by reconstruction of mising features from the restoration period. All around the world, there are many active redevelopment projects undertaken by the government to preserve the sanctity of these ancient treasures. However, it is not reasonably possible to restore each and every detail of these buildings as it was. Primarily, the construction of these century- old buildings begins to wear in time. In such cases, some parts of the buildings might not be in a recoverable condition. Here, the architects need to reconstruct that particular part to give a complete look to the puzzle of these primeval structures. Therefore it is unaccomodating for the government to demand accurate traditional appearance of the buildings. Sometimes, a few relevant contemporary touches need to added to make the older buildings appeasing enough.

In conclusion, we can safely say the government should not be insistent on minute preservation of traditional appearance of old buildings. Minor modifications can definitely be made to adapt existing buildings to compatible new users. This not only makes good economic sense, but preserves ould legacy also.