There is an increasing concern over the individual’s lifestyle should be changed by governments or being controlled by themselves. Both views will be discussed before my conclusion.

It is undoubtedly that an individual should be responsible for their own ways to live. This helps them feel freedom and get rid of anxiety about being controlled. For example, some people prefer playing sports to increase their body strength, while others maintain weight by engaging themselves in a healthy diet. Even though these kinds of activities may have some negative effects such as being injured or becoming too skinny, but it still their decisions and they should be responsible for this instead of the authorities. Moreover, it seems unrealistic if governments must be involved in each person lifestyle. For instance, a sedentary lifestyle of children should be the responsibility of parents and families. The governments can not make any significant improvement if the parents who struggle with work-life balance do not discourage their kids from eating junk foods.

On the other hand, governments play an important role in changing inhabitants’ unhealthy lifestyle which pose a threat to communities. In fact, low awareness people often satisfy their own choice of living while ignoring others. For instance, smoking has more negative effects on other innocent people than smokers, while alcoholic as well as being addicted to drugs affect adversely to entire populations. Therefore, governments should be involved in mitigating these problems. Publishing more stringent policies such as a heavier fine for a drug dealer or those who smoke in public areas may help.

In conclusion, while choosing the way one lives should be a personal decision, governments should be responsible for those who cause negative effects on the communities.