Some people think governments should spend money on faster means of public transport. However, others think money should be spent on other priorities (such as the environment). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that some people believe that there should be a massive expenditure budget by nations and authorities on a faster public transit network while others argue that government resources should be top priorities, especially protection of the environment. Both views will much be discussed in this essay and I will give my perspective on this statement.

On the one hand, investment in faster means of public transport would, above all, encourage a reduction in the use of private cars. First of all, in terms of traveling in the city, traffic grinds to a halt during peak commuting times. This means a growing influx of cities have reduced this problem by expenditure public money on park and ride schemes, integrated transport systems or have followed the example of Hong Kong in introducing light rail transit systems. Thus, such steps have speeded up journey times by easing traffic flow. Secondly, from a nationwide perspective, faster inter-city rail services, such as Japan’s famous bullet trains, have also encouraged motorists to leave their cars at home.

On the other hand, there are several important reasons for governments to prioritize expenditure on other areas, particularly the environment. First, the consequences of an ecological crisis will be far-reaching. If global warming continues, for example, humanity faces with the possibility of extinction and no cost is too high for governments to pay in order to prevent such a catastrophe. Another reason measure is that spending on reducing pollution will bring benefits for health, especially in cleaner air and water. Finally, by providing funding for renewable energy, governments will be able to meet their international obligations to reduce their carbon footprint.

In conclusion, although money should be spent on developing faster public transport, I believe that public spending on other priorities such as the environment is more vital.