Some people think that governments should spend as much money as possible exploring outer space (for example, traveling to the Moon and to other planets). However, others disagree and think governments should spend this money on our basic needs on Earth. Discuss both these views, and give your own opinion

At the present time, aerospace is proceeding rapidly to satisfy the desire of conquering outer space. Nonetheless, some people assume that money should be spent on fundamental needs on Earth. From my point of view, I am inclined to believe that investment in astronomy is potentially essential for the future of humanity.

Human civilization is facing life-threatening problems that are currently unsolvable. Global population is increasing at an alarming rate, leading to lack of living conditions. Family planning is not taken seriously alongside scientific breakthroughs raising life expectancy, which results in population overgrowth. Illiteracy is another concern as children in Africa have little access to education. The degradation of facilities as well as the unavailability of teachers have deterred students from going to school. On a global scale, poverty, hunger and pandemics have posed a threat to the existence of humanity. It is vitally important that governments should invest in basic needs to provide a better life for global citizens.

On the other hand, space exploration is believed to pave the way for the future of human beings. Scientists are conducting space research in order to find an alternate living space for the human world in the far future. On top of that, the exploration of the universe may be the solution to the problems that are unsolved for the time being. In sight of future benefits, space exploration is a stepping stone to the existence of humans.

To draw a fair conclusion, both solutions are equally pivotal, nonetheless, life on Earth has yet to show any improvement but on a downfall, with the recent outbreak of COVID-19 pandemic. Therefore, aerospace is expected to be a solution to current issues, with companies recently investing in this field, namely SpaceX by Ellon Musk.