Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

The question of whether organsing international sports events is beneficial for the nation has been a heated debate to many of its residents. There are contrasting perceptions for this, which I will discuss in this essay.

According to those who support the fact that their countries should host major sporting events, this provides a vast number of advantages to the nation. They deem that doing so spreads the profile of their countries worldwide, leading to foreigners’ acknowledgement as well as the surge in the number of tourists visiting them. As a result, the local economy will enjoy short-term virtues, for money earned from tourism are injected to it. Besides, hosting such worldwide events constitutes a long-lasting investment to the nation’s infrastructure and transport to provide adequate services to the influx of visitors coming to attend those events. Hence, as long as there are not any events taking place, the citizens will be the ones enjoying the full legacy of such investment.

However, critics may oppose the idea by proposing several banes that organising international sporting events causes. To them, the authority is squandering a large amount of money on the construction of stadiums, which are only in use in particular occasions. They believe that the money, instead, can be spent on more vital aspects of the country such as health and education. Apart from that, since a large amount of money is poured into building stadiums, money to ensure the developments of other fields drops considerably; therefore, to maintain these rates, high taxes will be imposed. Consequently, this triggers negative publicity towards the country.

To sum up, even though hosting major sporting events provides a country with certain benefits, my perception still inclines towards the idea that the government should not waste their money on this non-essential thing and use it for something more important.