Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is true that many international sporting events have been held in several big countries nowadays. While I understand the reasons why some people think it is harmful, I still believed this would be beneficial to the host nations in some aspects.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why people think that these events have positive impacts on host countries. Firstly, they could increase valuable tourism in the host cities. By hosting such events, those countries could attract hundreds of visitors, which can boost local economies. Another point worth mentioning is creating a sense of national pride for the nations participating. Appearing to rank high in these sport-related contests, those countries have opportunities to be on many well-known newspapers and national TV broadcasts such as New York Times, BBC and ABC. In addition, these sports events bring thousands of jobs for local communities.

On the other hand, some argue that running sports events bring negative factors. One such drawback is that those events are a financial drain on host cities. For example, a January 2021 study found that losing foreign travelers due to COVID-19 restrictions cost Japan $23 billion, which are much higher than predicted. Finally, those expensive infrastructure and buildings fall into disuse beyond these sporting competitions. For instance, Bejing’s 2008 Bird’s Nest Olympic Stadium costs the government $11 million annually to maintain. As a result, it would waste money and end up in a financial crisis if it could not be sold to any private owners.

In conclusion, it seems to me that sporting events do more harm than good since they become a financial burden for host cities.