Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country,

while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is asserted by some people that conducting an international sports event will benefit the host country whereas critics say that those events would be a waste of budget and should be better spent. Despite the evident merits it brings to the society, I would concur with the latter notion for the profound drawbacks of large sport festivals.

For one thing, such events provide opportunities for the country to enhance the image of cultural identity and bolster economic prosperity. From the cultural perspective, sports aspirants as well as domestic visitors will gather to join in the dynamic environment in which high sporting spirit is promoted. Hence, this is advantageous for the locals to uphold their value through advertising and selling traditional commodities and cuisines. Consequently, the tourism industry will grow significantly owing to the increasing demand for traveling to the country where the event is held and businesses could boost sales when people are willing to pay more for recreational activities on such occasions.

For another, the shortcomings are subtle which wield perennial negative influence on the host nation in the long run. Firstly, the cost for maintaining sport amenities is substantial in comparison with the profit derived from ticketing. The investment in sports facilities aimed at professional athletes is a financial constraint and a pressing problem for the authorities given the vast amount of the equipment are only used temporarily. The disparities in the turnover often accompany offshore investment for labor cost to construct stadiums and build other facilities considered as national loans, which the chosen country will have to endure for years later. Furthermore, with the massive numbers of tourists across the globe combined in a region, this could give rise to potential infectious diseases which exert adverse health impacts on the public. For instance, the proportion of Covid-19 patients has risen significantly in Korea after the Olympic games ended. This will weigh more on the medical system of the host when the pandemics are outbroke due to the uncontrolled number of spectators assembling in one particular place and provoke the spread of diseases.

To conclude, regardless of the existing economical and cultural benefits, I still hold the opinion that those could be facilitated by other ways whereas the downsides are more considerable requiring additional attention to be resolved.