Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country while some people think it is bad Discuss both views and state your opinion

International sports events are likely to earn a large number of followers all around the world, thus, are prone to controversies, one of which is whether or not hosting one benefits the country. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the matter and give my final verdict afterward.

There are grounds that are in favor of hosting a sporting event on a global scale in terms of national growth. The prospect that an international event is held may be an effective booster of the country's tourism, given that people from all around the world would be interested in the future event. The rise in tourist numbers can account for a good occasion from which the locals can earn their living, as there is expectedly an upsurge in demands in the area. Generally speaking, the host country may witness a growth in the national economy as their inhabitants' living conditions are improved during and after the event.

Oppositions to the idea that a country should host an international sporting event may lie in the negative potential for the country's budget and the local environment. First of all, the chosen country cannot afford global-scale sports games given their economic status. Indeed, a country should be well-prepared concerning infrastructure, that is worldwide standardized, prior to the event. This could be a waste of money and effort since the facility would mostly be abandoned after the event, owing to the fact that any national event may not need that big-sized a stadium or cutting-edge equipment. Not only does this account for poor budgeting, the issue also puts a strain on the local surroundings. Unused sports arenas can become a favorable hub for carriers of contagious diseases, such as malaria. Besides, the considerable amount of waste may accompany the sudden growth in the number of tourists, leaving the area much bigger land sites and thus, turning the local life upside down. On the whole, hosting an international event might do more harm than good to a developing country, as they are bound to invest a fortune to prepare and unable to use the invested infrastructure once the event is ended.

In conclusion, it can only be beneficial for a country to take charge of an international sports event, when the country is developed already to meet the strikingly high requirements for a host country. Therefore, I am of the opinion that only developed countries should host global sporting events.