Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country,

while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is asserted by some people that conducting an international sports event will benefit the host country. However, critics say that those events would be a waste of budget and should be better spent. Despite the evident merits it brings to the society, I would concur with the latter notion for the profound drawbacks of large sport festivals.

For one thing, such events provide opportunities for the country to enhance the image of cultural identity. From a cultural perspective, sports aspirants around the globe as well as domestic visitors will gather to join in the dynamic environment with high sporting spirit. This is especially advantageous for the locals to uphold their value, given the opportunities to advertise and sell traditional commodities and cuisines. Tourists in turn will have a deeper insight on the beauty of their region and thus, this promotes acculturism to spread more widely.

For another, the shortcomings are subtle which wield perennial negative influence on the host nation in the long run. Firstly, the cost for maintaining sport amenities is substantial in comparison with the profit derived from ticketing. The investment in sports facilities aimed at professional athletes is deemed a financial constraint and a pressing problem for the authorities given the vast amount of the equipment are only used temporarily. The disparities between the turnover and resources allocated is considered as national loans, which the chosen country will have to endure for years later. Furthermore, with the massive number of tourists across the globe combined in a region, this could give rise to potential infectious diseases which exert adverse health impacts on the public. For instance, the proportion of Covid-19 patients has risen significantly in Korea after the Olympic games ended. This will weigh more on the medical system of the host when the pandemics break out due to the uncontrolled number of spectators assembling in one particular place provoking the spread of diseases.

To conclude, regardless of the existing cultural benefits, I still hold the opinion that those could be facilitated by other ways. Nonetheless, the downsides are more considerable, requiring additional attention to be resolved.