Some people think that hosting international sports events is good for the country while some people think it is bad Discuss both views and static your opinion

For decades, many countries strive to be qualified as the hosting country of international sports events. While it is argued that this kind of events could bring harms to the hosting countries, it is undeniable that it also bring numerous benefits as well. In this essay, the arguments surrounding hosting international sports events will be discussed.

On the one hand, it is necessary for the hosting countries to spend a great amount of money on building stadium big enough for the events. It is argued that those stadium not only cost a lot of money but also go out of use after the events. For example, after the 2016 Rio Olympics, the stadium was reported to be left idle and in disrepair after the games. It is questionable whether the expenditure on those international events really benefits the people in the hosting countries or it might have gone into waste.

On the other hand, hosting such events helps the hosting countries shine on the international stage and consequencely bring benefits as well. Before the events, the governments of hosting counrties tend to invest in developing the hosting cities so as to show the best side of their countries to the world. Take 2008 Beijing Olympics for example, the Chinese government had made effort to reconstruct Beijing and improve the environment so the world would consider China as a highly developed country. Morever, during the period of the events, the players and their supporters around the world would gather in the hosting countries and benefit the countries' economy by tourism.

In conclusion, although it might be a waste of money to host an international sports event, I am convinced that the hosting countries could still benefit from it by attracting people around the world.