Some people think that hosting international sports events is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

In recent years, there is an ongoing debate on hosting international sports events among people. Many adopt a view that this kind of event will bring about many outstanding advantages while some people consent to the opposite view. Personally speaking, I share the same opinion with the former idea. This essay will present an analysis of the given issue as well as to draw a logical conclusion.

On the one hand, there are some notable downsides with reference to hosting an international sports event. A budget required to handle such a large event like that leads to pecuniary problems. To be more specific, governments have to invest money in purchasing modern sports facilities, refurbishing stadium ‘s seating for spectators and indeed, guaranteeing transportation and hotels for both participants and audiences. All of these issues will cost up to a big fortune, which may place a burden on the governments, especially for those developing countries. To cite an example, the Olympic Tokyo 2020 taking place during the harsh summer of Japan has forced the organizers to expend in finding a practical solution to solve the heatstroke that occurred to almost every staff at the event. As a result, Japan anticipated to spend around $15.4 billion but the true total spending excessively went up an unimaginable amount of $20 billion.

On the other hand, despite several drawbacks, being a host country in an international sports event creates a host of outstanding opportunities for that nation. Firstly, it will attract tourists who are sports fan from different countries as well as becoming the main attention of the world. That is to say, this chance acts as a tourism marketing strategy to the home country, thereby boosting the turnover from tourism to the possible highest level. Secondly, this kind of event also strengthens the fellowship between all the participating nations. Therefore, they can develop a better cooperation in other key areas such as education and economy. Last but not least, each sports athlete is able to widen their horizons by meeting new people and show their patriotism through winning medals.

To conclude, with lots of aforementioned benefits, I strongly believe that hosting international sports events engender a myriad of chances for the host country even though there are also some significant complications that should be bargained for beforehand.