Some people think hosting major international sporting events brings a lot of advantages to a country, while others believe there are more disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no denying fact that the popularity of major events are ubiquitious globally due to their thrilling and entertaining shows. Majority of the folks are in favour of hosting major export shows owing to the number of merits. However many people highlight its demerits first. In my further paragraphs, I will describe both sides of the coin before putting my personal view.

Initiating with the benefits, first and foremost usefulness is that hosting major sporting events help to boost local economy in various ways. For example, it increases direct and indirect tourism. Fans from all over the world come to the hosting city or country and get to know the local cultures, cuisines, places and people. This impacts positively on the tourism sector and economy. Secondly, being able to host globally popular events improves the recognition of the country and its profile worldwide.

On its darker side, some of the drawbacks which make it problematic are, the hosting country needs to spend huge amount of money on the bidding. Secondly, local sports may get under the shadow of the globally popular events. For instance, there are some negative effect on its own culture. Other demerits that many people discuss that the infrastructure that are built to host the event may no longer be used in future. Consequently, waste of the money and resources. Last but not the least, if there is any error in organising the programme successfully, the country is criticised tremendously.

To recapitulate, hosting a global event has its own pros and cons. Although it has many benefits but the demerits cannot be neglected. However in my opinion the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.