Some people think that a huge amount of money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that this money should be better spent on human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Wildlife conservation certainly consumes a massive resource, and this matter has courted enormous criticisms regarding the impoverished population. To quite a few people, it is alleged as an ethical dilemma; however, I strongly believe that protecting wild animals is the utmost investment wherein humans should allocate their fiscal resources.

Firstly, protecting wild animals and many other undomesticated creatures not only promotes biodiversity but also reinforces our living environment. All living creatures in the wild are engaged with distinctive functions as to retain a sustainable natural environment and the intricate relationships between organisms; therefore, when wildlife is radically deteriorated from its natural habitat, it is unlikely to avoid the disruption of the ecological balance. For example, when one species of herbivorous prey becomes extinct, a considerable decline in its predator population will appear inevitable due to food scarcity, thereby consecutively resulting in the degradation of many other related habitants and the vulnerable ecosystem as a whole. Needless to say, as the last living creature perishes, it is our human species that will ultimately take the toll.

Secondly, while human race has undoubtedly benefited from wildlife preservation, the amount of resource implemented in this realm proposes far more rewarding outcomes than that of spending on global population. According to the World Health Organization, as many as 80% of medical prescriptions are primarily derived from animals and plants, which constitutes an essential alternative in terms of both ailment treatment and human lifespan expansion. In other words, by conserving undomesticated animals and their ecological habitats, humankind is executing critical maneuvers in favour of our life quality, expectancy and sustainability. Moreover, investment of wildlife conservation programs are neither extravagant nor squandering national revenues as many individuals have accused. There is compelling evidence allegedly regarding the feeble achievement of the constantly replenished funds into addressing our community’s social crisis such as famine or environmental contamination. This is in all likelihood presented in underdeveloped countries where the indigent citizens are supposed to experience a better, healthier life assisted by the foreign aid over the past decades, yet remain living in poverty-stricken conditions whereas their upper-class counterparts are luxuriating in their own mansions. Having said that, decent people should be acclaimed for their immense generosity; however, we all should also take into considerations how to effectively allocate our financial resources.

To summarize, I rigidly refute the view described in the statement. Not only does wildlife conservation, by and large, hold the crucial key to the survival of mankind but it is also our wise investment in the long run.