Some people say that we do not need printed newspaper any more. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, it is not uncommon to encounter people constantly attached to mobile devices rather than broadsheet newspaper for latest and breaking news. As a result, this ubiquitous phenomenon intrigues a number of individuals to claim that printed newspaper is no longer necessary for the community. Though I partially comprehend certain reasons for such conviction, I strongly believe that perhaps newspaper is not supremely prevalent, it is definitely far from being trivial.

When taking into consideration, online newspaper apparently transcends the conventional material in terms of efficiency and diversity. First, advanced technology has allowed people to access current affairs under no restriction of time and space. This can be seen from the modern stereotype of the young who would likely prefer reading on their gadgets while walking home from school or work than tediously confine themselves on a seat, carrying the bulky sheets of papers. Secondly, in addition of its superiority, online presses possesses a large repertoire of numerous websites in favor of accessibility for readers to not only scrutinize the reliability of the given information, but also obtain divergent perceptions towards several controversial social issues. Besides, high-speed internet reception has also contributed a crucial role to bring forward the robust predisposition of web-based reading, whereby its journal articles are way faster to be disseminated than the printed form.

Excellent online press as foresaid, it is entirely unnecessary to halt the printed newspaper for quite a number of reasons. Above all, tangible newspaper has been on earth for nearly two centuries and by far a mere hobby to billions of the population. That is to say eliminating newsprint can represent a destructive influence on individuals worldwide regarding both gratification and employment. Particularly, it would be a tragedy for Western inhabitants to whom newspapers is considered as not only an indispensable habit and a fact of culture, but also the most effective ways of exploring temporary events which are circulating throughout their society. Coupled with the loss of the aesthetic human practice, the termination of the press industry will undoubtedly entail with hundreds of unemployed specialists in this sector as well as put an end to the so-called journalism. Last but not least, newspaper itself is lower grade material which has been recycled several times, not to mention the fact that old magazines or tabloids are widely salvaged in certain everyday activities. As an example, many homemakers, instead of wasting a roll of paper towels, cleverly exploit the crumbled broadsheets to mop the cinder residue from their ovens while many butcher and florist shops competently wrap up their commodities with pieces of used newspaper.

In conclusion, I contend that it is groundless to stop printed media for it will, more often than not, cause hardship to a great deal of citizens who are prone to be deprived from either their permanent interest or their beloved occupation once newspaper is perished.