It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment,

such as the South Pole. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The past 50 years have witness a dramatic flourish of tourism. Rural areas have become accessible to not only scientists but also to thrill-seekers worldwide. Some people claim that this phenomenon is posing considerable threats to different aspects of life while the opponents laud its significance. Although this trend appears attractive to some people, the drawbacks are believed to be far more significant.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that visiting remote areas offers a variety of benefits to both travellers and researchers. First, thanks to fascinating journeys to remote areas, people are able to totally immerse themselves into the nature, which probably arouses and develops a high appreciation for nature and for peoples in them. Consequently, these one of a kind experiences will not only broaden their horizons but also develop their greater tolerance toward different cultures. Second, the investigation into rural areas like the South Pole allows scientists to have deeper insights into our planet – the Earth. In fact, expeditions to the wilds is the prerequisite for a vast amount of remarkable discoveries about flora and fauna, geology and so on, from which people can get to new heights of development.

On the other hand, not only the environment but also tourists themselves are put in danger if accessing to rural areas becomes common. Since a massive influx of visitors explores untouched areas, there is possibility that these areas will probably lose their inherently natural beauty. In fact, the constructions of accommodation and other services to facilitate travellers’ needs entail the destruction of natural landscapes as well as the biodiversity and ecosystem of the locality. For example, the commercialization of Son Doong Cave, – the biggest natural cave in the world, has left detrimental impacts on the creatures there. Furthermore, by exploring remote areas with ill-equipped, thrill-seekers put themselves in jeopardy. They are prone to suffer from severe temperature or be attacked by wild animals, which leave themselves at stake.

In conclusion, although developing tourism in remote areas is not without advantages, the downsides should be seriously considered. Exploration is needed to go hand in hand with preservation for sustainable development of any areas.