When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Having played a crucial role in people’s lives, money is largely believed to be a pivotal factor for employees when applying for a position. From my perspective, albeit its critical values enticing a number of job-holders, I would contend that a handsome wage is far from being the best option.

On the one hand, it is incontrovertible that a job entailed with lucrative salary might reasonably appeal to numerous applicants. The first justification to be cited is that a generous pay can act as powerful incentive to either engage or boost workers’ productivity and loyalty. Numerous graduates opt for jobs which are well-paid in order to return student loans and at least to liberate them from being financially dependent on their parents. Accordingly, these individuals are likely to set salary rates as a prerequisite regardless of the amount of workload or their respective job preference, and wholeheartedly exert their effort to complete their given tasks. Another rationale to elucidate this prevailing phenomenon is the irresistible lure of a large wage package for one to ensure a reasonable lifestyle. Undoubtedly, a number of high school seniors who are, more often than not, in the sheer dilemma of choosing a livelihood, would take the job’s remuneration into great consideration. Given the importance of financial resources, many have adopted high-paid vocations as the last resort.

However promising a salary offer might sound, I believe other job-related matters, namely working environment and conditions, are certainly not inferior. Working environment should be the first priority for an employee to decide whether or not to prolong a long term collaboration with one company. For example, if one perpetually endeavour to accomplish a given mission, but receives little acknowledgement from the employer whilst being disregarded by the unwarrantedly envious colleagues, he or she might give a second thought to a career change. That is to say, such unhealthy and disproportionate treatment with the absence of job contentment is unlikely to retain certain employees irrespective of high pay rates or considerable incentives. In terms of working conditions, a position involved with hazardous tasks may not appeal to job-seekers while the location of the company can afflict a number of workers as many would not favour the monotonous journey back and forth from work. Coupled with that, a job security comprising of one’s employment stability and continuance is also critical when selecting a livelihood. In other words, with little career prospects, an occupation might appear less captivating to the applicants.

In summary, salary has been largely taken into consideration amongst the job seekers; however, I rigidly believe that several factors pertaining to one’s ultimate choice of career should not be discounted.