Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Preserving wild animals is constantly receiving more public concern, time, and effort in the present-day world. Reacting to this fact, while many people show their agreement, the opponents argue that this money should be spent on the human population.

On the one hand, people suppose that if human beings do not protect wild animals, many of them will come to extinction, which indirectly affects other species since many species live on each other and cooperate to find food. Hence, if one disappears, others will face up to many survival problems. Besides, the food chain and the habitat are also negatively damaged due to many changes in the number of species. These altogether will affect the biodiversity of nature. Moreover, the exploitation of wild animals also causes many harmful effects to the environment, for instance, deforestation. In this case, the loss of a tremendous number of trees will lead to global warming and other natural disasters, which directly affect human life.

On the other hand, tons of people believe that this money and efforts would rather invest in the human population like improving the living standards or innovating education. Firstly, when better education methods are implemented, it can reach more people of different ages and enhance their interest in learning. As a result, both the public awareness about protecting animals and the public intellectual level are increasing considerably through education. Therefore, preserving wild fauna and dealing with many social problems like unemployment can be solved at the same time, which is much more efficient. Furthermore, the living standards can also improve significantly, which makes people’s life much easier, so they can devote more time to concern about protecting the environment, or in other words, conserving wild animals.

In conclusion, while the two solutions all have their strengths, I am partially in favour of investing in improving the human population, which can solve more problems simultaneously.