Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has had a negative impact on young people's reading and writing skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the online conversations make use of reading and writing skills and are becoming the most used source of communication between young people. In my opinion, computers and mobile phones can encourage more and more people to review their original context, but can be a source of a backwardness of these essential abilities.

On one hand, it is remarkable that many young people who rely on modern technology, are not capable of speaking correctly and academically. Obviously, more and more youngster prefer to use abbreviations in order to send some messages very quickly. Examples of the most common short forms of words are "u"(you), "thx"(thanks), ty, and so on. Furthermore, although the young generation tries to cut some special letters in some words, inevitably for them is that they miss to check the grammar. So, misunderstandings can be due writing incorrectly the words and sentences which make impossible to normally read.

On the other hand, the online conversations every time offers the chance to self-correct the mistakes and to customise the interpretation of the message. Therefore, every young person should keep control over their command of the language. As their messages are recorded by devices, young generation can learn how to spot their errors in their writing style. That is why, reading is important in analysing their compositions and makes sense of how well the sentences are expressed. For instance, creating a formal mail is a difficult task because of the pressure in clearly transmitting the information.

In conclusion, even if modern technology is a preferable method to communicate, it could be a pitfall in developing reading and writing style, it can be clearly noticed that this can improve our capacity in self-detection of wrong words. Therefore, young people should not be very addicted to online services in order to improve their linguistic abilities.