: Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has had a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of technology have dragged on the large number of digital communication methods such as computers, mobile phones were produced. People often use those to connect with others. However, I believe that the growth use of digital communication has had a negative effect on ability to read and write of young people.

The primary reason is starting at its convenience and speed. People usually use the informal language in communication via computers and moblie phones. For example, they will use “u” instead of “you”, “HPB” replaced to “happy birth day”. Besides, mobile operators have capped the length of text messages to 160 characters because its content are often short and contain spoken expression. On the contrary, writing skills’s requirement is making full sentences with fomal language. Children will can not write an comprehensive essay whose content is describing a beautiful scenery or expressing their fellings about something. Spending too much time on digital communication methods will cause the lacking of ability to write.

Another negative effect of using computers and mobile phones to connect with others were that capping the reading skills. Of phones and computers, there are automatic spell-check tools when you type a message. If this process are repeated, the user will be depend on it. Their grammar and lexical range may gradually erode. In addition, communicating via computers and mobile phones make young people short of confident when spelling. Furthermore, there are various information in the Internet which people use digital communication methods can read. They will not know how to select it to read. The impact of disoder information, one of disavantages caused by digital communication methods, is very incisive to our reading skills.

To sum up, we can not negate advantages which electronic devices gave; however, people should have controlled the time spending on it. If not, our ability to read and write will be seriously affected.