Some people think that with the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, people lose the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of advanced technology with the breakneck speed, it is undeniable that electronic gadgets play a vital part in human life. Some contend the dilemma whether or not spending excessive time on using computers and mobile phones leads to the loss of face-to-face communications skill. In my perspective, I concur with this opinion.

On one hand, there will be benefit of utilizing these devices for interactions with others. Firstly, thanks to cutting-edge technological gadgets, useful internet-based tools could be created to keep in touch with people in order to facilitate great communication. The reason is that it could be easy for users to download online-meeting apps such as Team, Zoom, Facebook just by a click on smartphones and tablets, which enables them to see each other visually every time instead of wasting a bunch of commuting time from home to meeting place, especially suitable for natural born shy ones who feel overwhelmed when having direct conversations. Thus, this would reinforce people bonds strongly.

On the other hand, it could bring a problem in association with over reliance on high-tech things, thereby causing to lose users’ interest on meetings in real life. This is because entertainment games, videos on social media platforms attract each individual to squander time on playing and watching, which makes them spend less time on interacting directly with families and friends to exchange information. As the result, such people could become isolated from society and run the risk of suffering from mental illness.

In conclusion, adverse effects related to interpersonal interaction from technology could be perceived. It is high time people gain a better control over the time on technological devices.