Some people think that instead of preventing climate-change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is evident that the global-warming issue has been gaining the spotlight all over the world due to its substantial implications on human life. Although the concept of coexistence between humans and climate change seems to be plausible, this cannot be taken as the ultimate measure to fight off climate change.

There are a number of reasons why coexistence can do more harm than good. First, global warming is largely formed by human activities than nature itself. For example, the appeal of the economic drive is too much to resist that most nations depend on carbon-rich fuels to produce energy such as gas, oil, coal, most of which are non-renewable energy, which directly connects with the intensification of global warming. Second, despite the fact that citizens agree to maintain the environment the way it is, organizations and enterprises, especially in the manufacturing and mining sectors, would not as that would compromise their profits. Therefore, it can be inferred that if corporations were not held accountable for their contribution to global warming, as in the case of coexistence, the issue of climate change would inevitably be exacerbated.

Nevertheless, it can be more economically advantageous to actively prevent climate change than to ignore it. In fact, the cost, either financial or non-financial, of dealing with the future predicaments of climate change can be gigantic. For instance, the prolonged drought and frequently changing weather patterns in far-north of Africa, not to mention the loss of ice patches in Antarctica, can cause massive destruction to wildlife habitats and local livelihoods, which would take decades to rebound. In addition, rising temperatures have also contributed to the extinction of many species worldwide. It is worth noting that the extinction is irreversible and comes at a cost to the ecosystem and humans living with it.

In conclusion, fighting off global warming must be regarded as a top priority provided the high urgency. Measures should be taken in no time to ensure climate change remains at bay.