Task 2: Today, animal experiments are widely used to develop new drugs to test the safety of other products. Some argue that these experiments should be banned because inflicting pain on animals is morally wrong, while others support them for their benefit to humanity.”

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some argue that it is justifiable to prohibit the use of animals for scientific research concerning the degradation of moral values, others otherwise support its unparalleled utility for the benefit of humanity. In my opinion, it is important to consider the moral consequences of inflicting pain on animals and the available alternatives to animal experimentation.

On the one hand, detractors of animal experimentation often cite moral and ethical concerns. They argue that animals also have the capacity to experience sufferings and that it is morally wrong to use them as mere tools for scientific advancement. Experimental animals are burned, hampered, poisoned and abused in harsh chemical, drug, food and cosmetics trials, and then die brutally to no avail, as test subjects to such experiments might not prove productive. Additionally, they assert that the results of animal experimentation might not be validly applicable to all humans and that the use of animals in research is a manifestation of speciesism, the doctrine that the interests of one species are more vital than those of another. Such experiments cause tremendous suffering to animals and violate animals’ rights, and thus should be banned for good.

On the other hand, the advocates of animal experimentation point out the necessity of advancing medicine and science to aid human longevity. It is evident that dozens of lifesaving drugs and medical treatments have been successfully developed through animal experimentation. It is also essential for testing the safety and validity of products such as household cleaners and cosmetics, which are used globally by millions of people on a daily basis. Therefore, it plays a critical role in helping researchers identify undesired or side effects of new potential drugs such as liver damage, infertility and cancer-casing element. Furthermore, they assert that even though other means of testing drugs or products may exist, they may not produce as accurate and reliable results as animal experimentation.

In conclusion, the use of animals in scientific research remains a contentious topic, with valid arguments from both sides. While it is noteworthy to consider the implications of moral issues and the application of available replacements to animal experiments, if possible, animal testing should be executed in a virtuous manner with strict guidelines to minimize animal suffering and maximize the merits for humankind.