Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Organising car-free days across the globe are increasingly popular, they continue to be rather controversial because the benefits are hard to quantify exactly. There are arguments on both sides of this very topical debate. While people claim that these campaigns may diminish the atmospheric pollution, I contend that there are more other valid methods to preserve the atmosphere. The following essay will expound upon both perspectives in addition to supporting my opinion.

Advocates of organising global car-free days argue that it may reduce traffic emissions. Most of the vehicles have consumed on fossil fuel, a non-renewable resource, and emitted a high amount of air contaminants and carbon dioxide which contribute to climate change and global warming. Furthermore, car-free days also incentivized participants to utilize the alternative modes of transport like walking and cycling. For example, not only the number of bicyclists support considerably to the reduction of traffic released, but they could improve mental and physical well-being. Finally, raising the awareness about the absence of cars among people from all over the world would be easier spread through accessible the car-free campaign.

However, this event lasts a few days without cars out of 365 days per year that might help cut down as little as the annual amount of traffic fumes. There is probably the most another effective solution that is to limit the number of vehicles allowed. For instance, Singapore is to cap these quantities on its streets and harder to approval from the government to buy new cars. Secondly, the government might fund itself through high taxes from parking users. This amount of money should be invested to improve public infrastructure capacity which incentive locals to the lack of private transport and switch to public transportation. Another measure is levying a tax on carbon usage in all areas, including transport and industrial production. This measure has been adopted in several countries and has proven its curtailment of emissions in all fields.

To sum up, I believe that organizing car-free days may produce little effect on protecting the atmosphere. Other sustainable solutions, namely limiting the number of private transport, increasing parking fee and taxing all industries on carbon usage.