Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution; others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no denying that cars and other vehicles cause air pollution. international car-free days may sound as an effective way to control pollution however in my opinion it wouldn’t give satisfactory results. The international car-free days wouldn’t be an effective way of reducing air pollution because the smoke from industries and other sources account for air pollution way more than the pollution caused by the cars. Another reason for this is that pulling off something like this on an international scale may not be successful.

Firstly, burning fossil fuels like coal, petrol, etc. , smoke from industries, agricultural activities etc. are the major cause of air pollution all around the world. Car-free days would have a little to no contribution in reducing air pollution. For instance, in the city Delhi of India a rule of odd-even cars was implemented. Only the odd cars were allowed on the odd dates of the month and even cars on the even days of the month to control the rising air pollution in the city. this program resulted in lesser traffic on the roads but having contributed nothing in the reduction of the air pollution in the city. Just like this car-free days would prove to be a failure. I think instead of car-free days controlling the pollution caused by the major sources would be a sound practice.

Further, initiating such a program all around the world sounds like a hassle. we are still tackling with the problem of global warming and climate change on an international scale and have gotten nowhere near the solution. Banning plastic bags, planting trees, etc. we have tried it all, still no favorable results. Who is to say that initiating the car-free days would be fruitful? it is like shooting an arrow in the dark and hoping it hit the target. this idea doesn’t sound promising.

In a nutshell, to reduce pollution the main focus should be on the major causes of the pollution instead of tackling with the minor issues like the pollution caused by the cars. it is important to focus on the big picture.