Some people think international car free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution others think there are some other ways Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Modern trend towards growth in technology and industries has increased job opportunities and improvement in lifestyle among people living in cities. Cars has become a part of daily living for people working in cities. Increase in number of cars has adverse effect of traffic and pollution. There is a debate exists among people to reduce pollution, some people claim that announcing international car free day could have an effect in reducing air and noise pollution. This statement has to scrutinized for its advantages and disadvantages to draw a conclusion on the same.

To begin with, announcing international car free day, helps to create awareness on pollution among the people. It promotes the car users to find suitable routes and methods to travel from one place to another on that day. Perception on the effects of public transport imroves by this. And this is not the permanent solution to reduce air pollution created by increase in number of cars. Even if car free days are announced every week, it would not have any beneficial effect on reducing air pollution, in the subsequent days, the environment is exposed to emission from cars once again and the process repeats like a vicious cycle.

Additionally, concerned authorities and people using cars, should consider efforts to control air pollution. Government authorities shall facilitate Bike sharing schemes, parking levies, monitoring fuel emission level from cars, increasing the fuel price for cars and so on. Car sharing schemes shall be effective for those who travel in the same route for their destinations. Devising public transport with attractive facilities to increase passengers could help to reduce the number of cars.

In conclusion, stratiegies to he implemented varies according to the needs of the cities. And international car free day is not the only solution to deal with.