Some people think that international competitive sports such as football bring conflict between people of different age group and nationalities. But, others believe that sport is helping people reach understanding between them and nations. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many of the core values inherent in sports are compatible with the principle necessary for the development and peace, as fair play, co-operation, sharing, and respect. The life skills learned in sports help empower individuals and enhance physiological well beings, such as increased resiliency, self-esteem, and connection with others. Even though, these features of sports are beneficial to people of all age, but they are especially vital to the healthy development of young people. Although, there are merits regarding both sides of the argument, personally, I’m in the favor of organizing sports events like soccer to interact with people.

To begin with, the potential links between sport and peace are powerful. From international grassroots, sport brings people together in a way that can cross boundaries and break down barriers, making the playing field a simple and often apolitical site for initiating contact between the antagonistic group. The popularity of the sport and it’s convening power further contribute to the sport being a powerful voice for communicating messages of peace and site for symbolic public acts on the global and local level as well as to cross cultures it enables sport-related programmes to bridge social and ethnic divides. As a demonstration, well-crafted sports activities teach respect, honesty, communication, cooperation, empathy and how and why to adverse to rules. As a result, sport can be a powerful tool to promote peace both symbolically on the global level and very practically within communities. In addition to this, more than stimulating economic growth effectively designed sports programmes to strengthen basic human capabilities, create a connection between individuals, and teach core values and life skills.

On another hand, sport, however, is the reflection of society. It should acknowledge that sport such as football, like many aspects of society, simultaneously encompasses some of the worst human traits, including violence, especially between fans, corruption, discrimination, hooliganism, excessive nationalism, cheating and drug abuse. Furthermore, there is one significant reason to think that sports bring conflict between people. It is the fights among the supporters or players. It has been seen on several events that fights have been started at the end of the game as releasing the disappointment and anger of the supporters or the player of the losing side or celebrating the victory by exchanging the physical blows. It is often seen in Schools’ big match season. Sometime these unfortunate incidents could be lead to divisions of people and there are few occasions these separations continue for ages.

However, I strongly believe that well-crafted sports are the valuable tool to initiate social development and improve social cohesion, especially when implemented with young people. Together, the benefits from such programmes provide a powerful means to tackle social exclusion, rehabilitate child laborers and integrate, marginalized groups into their communities. Firstly, when social and personal skills are combined, sport can be an effective medium to intervene in a person’s decision to abuse or not to abuse drugs. While participation in sport does not inherently lead to a drug-free lifestyle.

In conclusion, given that the skills and values taught through sports are compatible with an effort to promote peace, sports activities should be considered as a supportive element of programmes in post-conflict and high tension areas. In addition to that, it is imperative that sport for peace programmes emphasize the positive values and cohesive and potential of sport and are provided in safe and supportive environments that are enjoyable and pressure free.