In the era of global innovation, people who live in cities have a tendency to choose either a horizontal or vertical city. However, a recent opinion has risen that a vertical city is the best condition to live in compared to that of a horizontal city. In this essay, I will illuminate both sides of the debate before coming to a conclusion.

Some people argue that living in a vertical house can bring good conditions to residents because of the convenience of this type of house. To explain, vertical houses include multi-storeys that are equipped with sufficient amenities such as supermarkets, fitness and yoga, living pools, playgrounds, schools. Therefore, residents can easily get access to these services with a short distance and time instead of looking for similar services in a place having a long distance. There could be no double that if citizens reside in a block building, they will receive convenience conditions by services of the vertical houses. Moreover, some people believe that the security of a vertical house will be safer than a horizontal house. In more detail, there are some activities that apartment buildings apply to ensure the safety of citizens such as distributing guards, setting passwords or identifying cards before entering the building. For example, if a stranger visits a building, they have to go through a security check of the building. As a result, dwellers feel more comfortable and guarded due to the high safety of a vertical city.

On the other hand, other people believe that a horizontal city can help dwellers mitigate risks related to fire issues. To be more specific, these houses are designed to be streamline with a few storeys so that residents are more likely to escape outside in the fire. Moreover, horizontal houses provide private spaces to family members. Instead of using shared areas like apartment buildings, horizontal cities tend to divide into many specific rooms. Besides, the houses can offer more spaces for a garden, playground and parking. Furthermore, it seems that the larger space of the house can be more suitable to multigenerational households while a vertical city can only apply for a small family due to limited space.

In conclusion, I think that living in a vertical or horizontal city will bring specific advantages so that we should take them into thorough consideration to optimize the best living conditions . While a vertical city brings convenience with sufficient amenities and a high security system, a horizontal city can ensure safety in the fire and provide private spaces and is also suitable for larger families.