Some people think that it is better for older schoolchildren to study a large number of subjects and develop a range of knowledge. Others argue that they should study a smaller number of subjects and focus on details. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the number of branches of learning that older students should learn at school and what we should teach and help them. While some people argue that older school children should be offered less discipline and their lessons should focus on details, I support the view that it is better for them to study more subjects and acquire more knowledge.

There are several reasons why people believe that increasing the number of disciplines at school and enabling them to develop as much knowledge as possible is superior for students. It is true that when the number of subjects grows, schoolchildren will be placed under pressure to have good educational outcomes in all subjects. Therefore, older students whose mental health is fully matured and can suffer from high pressure are more likely to acquire a tremendous amount of knowledge than the younger ones. Moreover, when schoolchildren get access to various branches of learning, this will lead to their comprehensive development. Consequently, this lays a sound concrete foundation for their future careers. It is also obvious that when schools teach older students more subjects and help them develop as much knowledge as possible, students will become flexible in their lives. For instance, students who only study math at school cannot calculate the amount of energy consumed by their family as well as students studying both math and physics.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that school should reduce the figure for disciplines that older schoolchildren study at school and they should focus on teaching their children more details about what they teach them. Firstly, if schoolchildren are offered less subjects to study and taught detailed lessons, they will gain a deeper insight into what they have learnt at school. The reason is that they do not encounter much pressure like those who have to acquire a range of subjects. Therefore, they can study more efficiently, have better comprehension of the topics taught at school and they also have more time to read more books or blogs on the Internet which are associated with their branches of learning to accumulate knowledge better. Furthermore, schoolchildren can develop their accomplishments at a particular subject. For example, students who are adept at math have more chances to get exposed to uphill math problems and detailed knowledge related to this subject because they do not have to learn various subjects so they can know skills that they need at this branch of learning in depth.

In conclusion, it seems to me that older schoolchildren should learn less subjects at school and their teachers should concentrate on teaching them detailed knowledge.