Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that TV shows and movies play an important spiritual food in people’s lives. While many people suppose that TV programmes should be imported from overseas to make a valuable contribution to national culture, I would argue that it is necessary to attempt to produce a local entertainment industry.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why some people favour importing the foreign TV entertainment programs. Firstly, they could broaden their knowledge in terms of different cultures via foreign films or shows, which are rarely seen in local programs. For instance, through “ Discovery” which is a reality show in Thailand, I had a valuable chance to watch the shows of transgender models and understanding concerning the difficulties of these people. Thus, I show much more positive attitudes toward transsexual men and women. Secondly, they could gain countless opportunities to enhance their English skills. As the matter of fact that a huge amount of American films which are imported into Vietnam bring some benefits for young people, they could improve English abilities as they would have many chances to hear and read English languages constantly.

On the other hand, I believe that films and TV shows should be encouraged in a particular national area. One reason is that the young generation could not only learn about their national history but also take pride in their country. To be specific, instead of studying history from boring textbooks, students could easily draw inspiration in regard to the country’s past from interesting locally-made documentaries or movies. In addition, many foreign programmes are unsuitable for local cultures like everyday experiences or lifestyles, leading to deviant thoughts of youngsters. Hence, film production should be done in a national area.

In conclusion, although oversea movies and TV programmes have many advantages for the diversity of a country’s culture, it seems to me that local films and TV industry are a better way to promote national history and to educate a country’s way of life for young people.