Some people think it is important for all children to learn history in school. Others believe that other subjects are more relevant to children’s lives today. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A question about what students should study in the school has been debated fiercely over the last decades. Although learning history is of great importance, I would argue that we would focus our energies on some core subject such as science and technology which play a significant role in our daily life.

Some people are strong advocates of learning history because learning history can make students gain a better understanding of what happened in the past and can guide our future life. History textbooks containing tons of historical events allow these students to draw a conclusion about the events happening in the past and people can use these conclusions to predict the future. For instance, what children can learn from the world war that is described in the textbook is that peace is priceless, and using a reasonable way to deal with and maintain friendship between different countries is a great way to avoid war. As a result, students are likely to obtain a better understanding of this war and form their views about how to rule out these disasters in the future.

On the other hand, some educationalists are in favor of learning some courses which are related to our daily work such as science and technology. What students can learn in these courses can provide a firm grounding for university and help them find decent jobs, because many companies are finding employees who are equipped with these skills and knowledge. For instance, students who acquire mathematical skills at school can learn how to build models to analyze data at university and works as financial analysts and engineers after graduation. These skills can help them improve living standards since they can get high salary.

In my opinion, children obtaining technology and science knowledge allow them to enjoy a better life. In this day and age, technology and science are full of every corner of our life and can make our life more convenient and colorful. Children who understand these skills enter the workforce after they grow up designing new high-tech devices, which can make promote social development and bring people more benefits.