Some people think it is important for all children to learn history in school. Others believe that other subjects are more relevant to children’s lives today. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that history should be played an essential part in school. While many people suppose that this may suit for educational system recently, I would argue that practical subjects which can apply on a daily basis are much more necessary than others.

On the one hand, there are two prime reasons why all students should be exposed to history at school. Firstly, they can know their roots and how modern civilisation has come to surely make them much more appreciative of our predecessors. For instance, thanks to history, I broaden my horizon that Vietnam’s liberation in 1975 could be considered one of the biggest milestones in the history of Vietnam, making our country free from colonisation. Secondly, historical events are the meaningful lessons which enable them to learn from past mistake and ensure it never happens again. To be specific, history lessons help them understand change including successes and failures, and how others are affected by it. Thus, they would avoid the similar outcomes in the future.

On the other hand, I believe that children should learn other subjects relating to children’s lives. One reason is that the way history is taught in most schools is rather tedious, so it would waste a lot of time for useful subjects like English or math. Children would be much more confident when they mastered in foreign language compared to historical events, as it is a better way to catch up with the global knowledge-based economy. In addition, informatics could help students nurturing and developing vital soft skills through leading-edge technologies. Thus, they might gain countless opportunities to seek a good job, because ‘Information Technology’ is one of the most popular jobs with not only high salary but also the dynamic working environment.

In conclusion, although it has benefits for children to study history, it seems to me that actual subjects are the perfect alternative to in class history lessons.