Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. While other people think that taking part in individual sports is better, like tennis or swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In today's world, some argue that team sports such as are more beneficial to players, while others hold the belief that sports that are played individually have superior advantages. Personally, I consider that both types of sports can provide a range of equal advantages to people.

On the one hand, team sports, such as football and basketball, offer a number of benefits to players. First and foremost, by participating in team sports, we learn to collaborate with others. In sports fields, individual ambition takes second place in team objectives. Every team member is working towards a common goal. To achieve this, cooperation and coordination are at the core. In other words, players must work as a team and achieve maximum synergy, even if that means someone has to make a certain sacrifice. As an illustration, in several multiple-stage bicycle race competitions such as the Tour de France or Giro d'Italia, a cyclist may take the leading position for half of the game and then drop out so to ensure his teammate wins and preserve the achievements of the bike crew, thereby leading to the whole team becoming a champion when the race is over. Another instance is that in football, a footballer may have to sacrifice the opportunity to score a goal to assist his teammate if the chance of a goal being scored is higher with him. Furthermore, if a team representing one country competes in some international competitions such as the Olympics or World Cup and achieves a high achievement, they will be honored as heroes by their fans and even by all the people of that nation. From there, the patriotism of these citizens will be rocketed up by the inspiration of this glory. Therefore, team sports can really add value to players' lives by making them feel a part of something is vital.

On the other hand, solo sports like tennis and swimming also have their merits. One of which is the cultivation and maximization of personal capacities. To illustrate, when a sportsman or sportswoman is without the assistance of others, he or she has to exert himself or herself to the utmost to come up with solutions to win, and this challenges his or her own limits. As an example, in tennis, a player has to strategize his ball serves, predict where the ball falls, and be agile in his movement, and he has to multi-task all these on his own. Besides, when doing sports individually, players are freed from the constraint of rigidly following a previously agreed plan, thereby giving them the freedom to experiment with new ways of playing. Consequently, such players often have a high sense of satisfaction.

In summary, I believe each type of sport has its own criteria for cultivating players' personal development, and I also conclude that players should choose whatever sport they are most interested in playing.