In the contemporary society, it is believed that the governments should spend money on roads and motorways rather than on public transport systems. From my point of view, I partly agree with this statement followed with some explanations.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why the governments should spend money on improving traffic infrastructure. First of all, one of the major benefits of advanced roadways is to improve the level of road safety. For instance, if the roads are wide and smooth, regularly maintained, this will decrease road accidents and injury rates. Additionally, better roadway quality could not only ease traffic congestion but also rise travel efficiency of drivers. There will be more space for a large number of vehicles and shorten the total travel time during rush-hour traffic.

On the other hand, allocating financial resources also plays a vital role. Initially, compared to private vehicles, public transportation contributes a lot to saving the environment with less damage in the city, which results in a sharp decline of emission into the atmosphere and could make a huge difference to save our planet in the long run. Furthermore, it would fulfill the demand of those who do not have a private vehicle, such as motorbike or car if they have to travel every day, Buses, trains and underground are a suitable solution to their everyday travel.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that both investing in traffic infrastructure and on public transport systems are all advantageous in their own ways. I honestly hope that the governments can choose compatible way, depending on their situation.