Some people think that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than in other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether students should learn national or international writings has caused a heated debate in recent years. Some grab the view that international literary works are not really necessary. From my perspective, I firmly disapprove of this argument since both types of literature play equal roles in the development of children.

On the one hand, ethnic literary works play a pivotal role in educating national culture for children. This is because through these writings, readers can come across plenty of traditional images or features that can give students an inside into their own country. Furthermore, the young generation can also enhance their nationalism and study the history of their country, which is reflected via written works in the past. To illustrate, youngsters in my country incline to have great patriotism thanks to revolutionary poems which are taught in any educational institution.

On the other hand, with international written works, students can broaden their horizons about tradition and writing style. While Kimono is the traditional costume of Japan, in Korea, Hanbok is considered as the national garment. While Japanese poetry is famous for its Haiku genre, when it comes to Vietnamese poetry, people immediately remember the hexagonal form of poetry. All of the aforementioned knowledge can be absorbed if children have access to some multinational writings. Besides, in the globalization era, studying from other countries is very crucial, people can harmonize the local literary features with new things which can acquire from multiple regions in order to enrich their own literary culture. Nguyen Tuan, who is a Vietnamese eminent writer is an example. Due to his interest in contemporary French literature, Nguyen Tuan's writing style is affected a lot, it is both classic and modern, both Vietnamese and French.

In conclusion, what students can learn from locally written works is indisputable, foreign literature, however, plays an indispensable part. Only by organizing and combining these writings can authorities form a comprehensive education system.